School Board

The Snohomish School District Board of Directors is composed of five district citizens elected by voters to four-year terms. Their authority is established  by the Washington State Legislature (in Section 28A of the Revised Code of Washington), and they act under the direction and restrictions of state law.

The School Board's legal responsibilities are to:

  • Establish general policy for the school system
  • Employ school personnel upon recommendation of the superintendent
  • Adopt the annual operating budget
  • Exercise the legislative powers conferred by the Legislature in overseeing school functions
  • Select the superintendent of schools.

Board Members 

Jay HagenJay Hagen
School Board President
Director District #5: Cathcart, Little Cedars, Totem Falls, Glacier Peak
Phone 360-668-4635
E-mail Mr. Hagen





Leah Hughes-AndersonLeah Hughes-Anderson
School Board Vice President
Director District #2: Cascade View, Emerson, Centennial
Phone 425-308-1252
E-mail Ms. Hughes-Anderson






Shaunna BallasShaunna Ballas

Board Member, Foundation Representative
Director District #1: Riverview, Seattle Hill, Snohomish High School
Phone 206-715-0283

E-mail Ms. Ballas








David JohnstsonDavid Johnston
Board Member, WIAA Representative
Director District #4: Central, Valley View, AIM High
Phone 360-568-0228
E-mail Mr. Johnston







Josh SeekJosh Seek
Board Member, Legislative Representative
Director District #3: Dutch Hill,Machias
Phone 425-377-2466
E-mail Mr. Seek





Kent Kultgen

Dr. Kent Kultgen
Superintendent and Secretary to the Board
Phone 360-563-7280

E-mail Dr. Kultgen